The 18 Katas of Matsubayashi Ryu at Omine

Matsubayashi-Ryu Katas

Kata translates to “form” in Japanese.  It is a series of preplanned movements that relay the most effective way to carry out a successful defense or attack to future generations.  Think of it as a really “Old School” Youtube.  By repeating these movements over and over, you develop a procedural memory that allows you to react on instinct.  When fighting techniques were outlawed by fearful governments, the Okinawans would often disguise these fighting techniques into elaborate folk dances to pass the knowledge down to future generations.

Omine Dojo teaches the 18 traditional katas of Matsubayashi-Ryu in its curriculum.

Beginning Katas


  • Naihanchi Shodan
  • Naihanchi Nidan
  • Naihanchi Sandan



  • Fukyugata Ichi
  • Fukyugata Ni

Intermediate Katas


  • Pinan Shodan
  • Pinan Nidan
  • Pinan Sandan
  • Pinan Yondan
  • Pinan Godan

Advanced Katas


  • Ananku
  • Wankan
  • Rohai
  • Wanshu
  • Passai
  • Gojushiho
  • Chinto
  • Kusanku

We will discuss each kata in detail, so check back in with us online, or stop by and say hello.